Dear Sugar…

I did promise to share with you online articles and posts which I find particularly brilliant, right. That’s what this post is about. It’s from an online e-zine called The Rumpus. You can find it here…http://therumpus.net/

There is a fortnightly column there called “Dear Sugar” and I am sharing Column #64, from last year February. It starts off…

“Dear Sugar,

I read your column religiously. I’m 22. From what I can tell by your writing, you’re in your early 40’s. My question is short and sweet: what would you tell your twenty-something self if you could talk to her now?

Love,

Seeking Wisdom”

What does Sugar say to Seeking Wisdom? Read: http://therumpus.net/2011/02/dear-sugar-the-rumpus-advice-column-64/

Some of the things might not resonate if we put it in an Indian context, but the wisdom, the emotions, the heartache, pain and beauty are all very universally. Read it and weep.

What are some of the things you would say to your twenty-year-old self?

 

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Dear Sugar…

  1. Oh yes, i read the column after you posted the link. Very sound.

    What will I say to my 20-year-old self? Hmm, tough one. Cos the retrospective gyaan might stop me from walking down this path I am at today, you know?

    But one thing I’ll tell myself is to loosen up. REALLY. Oh and ignore my idiot brother when he proclaims that at 20, I am too old to learn to drive!

    • Very sound indeed. I also love the way she wrote the letter, you know?

      I hear you about the retrospective gyaan and the loosen up bits… Seriously, I think that’s one thing I’d say to myself too, instead of being such a prissy (pseudo)intellectual all the time!

Leave a Reply

