Happy Valentine’s Day!

Ok. So I thought I would post something original here…a poem I’d written or a few thoughts on love I’d scribbled. But then, going through my work, I realised my poetry/lines/thought/bits-n-pieces-of-me were too personal, too intense and even too err…passionate, let’s say.

So here I am borrowing from one of my favourite poets of all time and seasons…Pablo Neruda. Man, could the man write! His love poems are like satin sliding smoothly off your skin. There’s a sensuousness in every thought, every word.

Happy Valentine’s Day to you all! Whether you believe in this holiday/festival/commercial-circus or not, I do sincerely hope that you all believe in love. I hope you enjoy the poem I’ve chosen and I also hope you’ll share your favourite love poetry with me.

SONNET XVII ~Pablo Neruda

I don’t love you as if you were the salt-rose, topaz
or arrow of carnations that propagate fire:
I love you as certain dark things are loved,
secretly, between the shadow and the soul.

I love you as the plant that doesn’t bloom and carries
hidden within itself the light of those flowers,
and thanks to your love, darkly in my body
lives the dense fragrance that rises from the earth.

I love you without knowing how, or when, or from where,
I love you simply, without problems or pride:
I love you in this way because I don’t know any other way of loving
but this, in which there is no I or you,
so intimate that your hand upon my chest is my hand,
so intimate that when I fall asleep it is your eyes that close.

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “Happy Valentine’s Day!

  1. My all time favourite is this Shakespeare sonnet:
    SONNET 130

    My mistress’ eyes are nothing like the sun;
    Coral is far more red than her lips’ red;
    If snow be white, why then her breasts are dun;
    If hairs be wires, black wires grow on her head.
    I have seen roses damask’d, red and white,
    But no such roses see I in her cheeks;
    And in some perfumes is there more delight
    Than in the breath that from my mistress reeks.
    I love to hear her speak, yet well I know
    That music hath a far more pleasing sound;
    I grant I never saw a goddess go;
    My mistress, when she walks, treads on the ground:
    And yet, by heaven, I think my love as rare
    As any she belied with false compare.

  2. An Amir Khusro composition – Yaar-e-Man Beya, a desperate love that would destroy itself, if for love.

    (the compositions and the translations here, but dont go just yet, for I quote below – http://aanteladda.wordpress.com/2012/02/13/yaar-e-man-ba-ya/)

    Come here my beloved
    For my life is on my lips
    Come here and make me alive

    (The translation of the next two verses is terrible..)

    Tonight there came news that you, oh beloved, would come –
    Be my head sacrificed to the road along which you will come riding!
    (or in Urdu: Fida hoon raah pe jis se sawaar aayega)

    All the gazelles of the desert have put their heads on their hands
    In the hope that one day you will come to hunt them….

    The attraction of love won’t leave you unmoved;
    Should you not come to my funeral,
    you’ll definitely come to my grave.

    My soul has come on my lips ;
    Come so that I may remain alive –
    After I am no longer – for what purpose will you come?

  3. bev

    Lovely poem, baisali. I always mean to read more poetry but don’t get around to it, so thanks. And Dipali beat me to it with that sonnet, it is my favorite fm Shakespeare. Another fave – to his coy mistress, Andrew marvell.

  4. bev

    Here’s one of my recent attempts, inspired by gulzar:
    Tanha chandni apne yaar se milna chahti hai
    Lekin kya kare kambakht kismet mein nahin
    Door se hi usey dekh kar
    Dil behla leti hai
    Kabhi kabhi Roshni ki ungliyon se
    USIA chehra sehla leti hai

Leave a Reply

