“If I fail, if I succeed…”

On a day like today, the only words that kept running through my mind at dizzying speeds, criss-crossing each other in a crazy directionless manner, often banging and colliding to make noise and kill the music, were the lyrics of certain songs that defined my growing-up years. Songs that switched on the hormones as we turned from tweenager to teenager; songs that the girls from my entire generation and from all over the country, would sing at inter-school competitions; songs that we dedicated to our secret crushes as we lip-synched soulfully to them, holding a comb in front of the mirror, her divine voice blaring from the cassette player.

On a day like today, when I woke up to the news that the world had lost one of the most phenomenal voices ever, my youth shed a tear. Her songs were pure emotion and absolute inspiration. Some of them became personal anthems for many of us.

I belong to the Madonna, Micheal Jackson, Whitney Houston and WHAM generation. I am still a willing captive to their voices and words. They each own my youth. I reveled in their triumphs; I refused to believe in the scandals and I would secretly weep while reading about their fall.

And that’s why, on a day like today, I wept again.

Goodbye Whitney Houston. You leave behind an entire generation of fans who will always love you.

In your honour, I am putting up the lyrics of a song I used to sing quite frequently once upon a time (to myself mainly), but I had forgotten along the way. This was even my anthem for a while. I absolutely must sing it to my boys one day and hope that they adopt the message in it…a message that I myself have not honoured for a while now:

The Greatest Love of All

I believe the children are our are future
Teach them well and let them lead the way
Show them all the beauty they possess inside
Give them a sense of pride to make it easier
Let the children’s laughter remind us how we used to be
Everybody searching for a hero
People need someone to look up to
I never found anyone to fulfill my needs
A lonely place to be
So I learned to depend on me

[Chorus:]
I decided long ago, never to walk in anyone’s shadows;
If I fail, if I succeed
At least I live as I believe.
No matter what they take from me
They can’t take away my dignity.
Because the greatest love of all
Is happening to me —
I found the greatest love of all
Inside of me.
The greatest love of all
Is easy to achieve
Learning to love yourself
It is the greatest love of all

I believe the children are our future
Teach them well and let them lead the way
Show them all the beauty they possess inside
Give them a sense of pride to make it easier
Let the children’s laughter remind us how we used to be

[Chorus]

And if by chance, that special place
That you’ve been dreaming of
Leads you to a lonely place
Find your strength in love

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to ““If I fail, if I succeed…”

  1. Congratulations on starting a new blog! Wish you happy blogging times and lots of success with it! I enjoyed this post. Yes, I too felt so bad that Whitney died. And yes, I should also sing/show this to the kids – I love the lyrics of this song. So true!

Leave a Reply

